Won't Be Gone

by Contorno

supported by
David Minnix
David Minnix thumbnail
David Minnix You should buy this. Its got:
Neil Youngish slow rockers, rusty front porch chooglin tunes about drinking and despair, serious noisy Wilco YHF/Big Star third vibes. Haunting vocals from Angela James and Janet Bean (Eleventh Dream Day, Freakwater). Yeah it sounds like bands you already love but they've synthesized it all into something that sounds just like themselves and no one else. These are good songs recorded with a lot of care.
Just buy it already! OK?! jeeze... Favorite track: Cicero.
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.
    Purchasable with gift card

      name your price


Cicero 04:31
Silos 05:07


released October 2, 2020

A vinyl release for this album is in the works - stay tuned!


All songs and lyrics by John Gargiulo except "Whiskey Reprise" (music by John Gargiulo / Lee Ketch, lyrics by John Gargiulo)

Arrangements by John Gargiulo, Robbie Hamilton, and Lee Ketch

Produced by Robbie Hamilton and John Gargiulo

Recorded at Strange Magic Recording and Skye Sound in Chicago, IL by Robbie Hamilton

Mixed by Robbie Hamilton and Contorno

Mastered by Carl Saff

Cover Photo by John Gargiulo


Indiegogo Executive Producers: Jason Pesola, Stephen Rees, Mark Gargiulo, Lee Ketch, Sheila Ellis, Anthony Gargiulo Jr, Kathryn Dunbar

Special thanks: Eliya Gwetta, Robby Haynes, Ashley Bowman, Christopher Keener, Ryan Krga, Neal Markowski, Beth McDonald, all of our families, all of our supporters on Indiegogo, Tributosaurus, Miko’s Italian Ice, and Uncle Neil


Whiskey Reprise

John Gargiulo: guitars, bass, mandolin, lap steel
Robbie Hamilton: air organ, percussion
Lee Ketch: vocals
Angela James: backup vocals
Neal Markowski: drums

Believe I’m Chooglin’ Now

John Gargiulo: vocals, guitars, bass, slide guitar, lap steel, reverb tank
Robbie Hamilton: backup vocals, drum machine, drums, mellotron, piano, percussion
Lee Ketch: backup vocals
Janet Bean: backup vocals


John Gargiulo: guitars, mandolin, piano, prepared piano, tape noise
Robbie Hamilton: drums, bass, piano, prepared piano
Lee Ketch: vocals, percussion
Angela James: backup vocals


John Gargiulo: vocals, guitars, bass
Robbie Hamilton: drums, organ, percussion
Janet Bean: backup vocals

Designated Steel

John Gargiulo: vocals, guitars, bass, e-bow fuzz bass, lap steel, banjo
Robbie Hamilton: drums, piano, organ, e-bow fuzz bass, pianet, percussion
Janet Bean: backup vocals

Holiday Train

John Gargiulo: vocals, guitars, music boxes, prepared piano, percussion, reverb tank
Robbie Hamilton: backup vocals, drums, piano, music boxes, prepared piano, percussion
Lee Ketch: vocals, bass

Won’t Be Gone

John Gargiulo: vocals, guitars, bass, slide guitar, mandolin, tape noise
Robbie Hamilton: drum machine, drums, piano, assorted keys, tape noise, percussion
Janet Bean: backup vocals


This album is dedicated to Jay Bennett, Tom Petty, and Lewis Chatman


all rights reserved



Contorno Chicago, Illinois

Contorno is a Chicago-based rock n roll collective led by songwriter John Gargiulo. The band includes core members Lee Ketch, Connor Boyle, and Dann Morr. Their debut LP, Won’t Be Gone, was recorded by Robbie Hamilton at Strange Magic Recording and features contributions from Angela James and Janet Bean (Eleventh Dream Day, Freakwater). ... more

contact / help

Contact Contorno

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Contorno, you may also like: